Jazz Hall of Fame to Open Voting to Fans

First time public can help choose new inductees

Lionel Hampton, Timex All-Star Jazz Show #2 Rehearsal, CBS Studios, New York. © 2009 Jerry Dantzic Archives. All Rights Reserved
Art Blakey c/o Gretsch Drums

1 of 2   Next

For the first time, jazz fans are being asked to help choose the next inductees into Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Nesuhi Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame. According to an article in the New York Times, the general public will be able to choose from among 10 nominees by going to a dedicated website.

The 10 nominees this year, chosen by a panel of jazz experts, are Jimmie Blanton, James P. Johnson, Lionel Hampton, Teddy Wilson, Kenny Clarke, Art Blakey, Roy Haynes, Don Redman, Clark Terry and Ben Webster. Voters can choose up to four artists and nominees receiving 75 percent of the vote or more will be inducted, according to the Times article.