Ellington’s Sacred Music to be Performed at Carnegie Hall

Lalah Hathaway, Jimmy Heath, Sean Jones and others participating

Lalah Hathaway (photo by Kris King)
Duke Ellington

1 of 2   Next

A performance of Duke Ellington Sacred Music will take place at Carnegie Hall on March 23 at 3:00 p.m. The event will feature high school singers from across New York City and young artists from the recently launched Jazz at Lincoln Center Youth Orchestra. The afternoon’s performance will be led by composer and arranger David Berger, along with special guest soloists alto Lalah Hathaway, baritone Rufus Bond Jr., soprano Nicole Cabell, tenor saxophonist Jimmy Heath, trumpeter and composer Sean Jones, trombonist and JLYCO Director Vincent Gardner, and tap dancer Jason Samuels Smith.

The program will feature the following numbers, each composed by Ellington:

“In The Beginning God”

“Ain’t But The One”

“Will You Be There?”


“Praise God”

“Tell Me It’s The Truth”

“Twenty-Third Psalm”


“Come Sunday”

“David Danced”

“Almighty God Has Those Angels”

“The Shepherd”

“It’s Freedom”

“Reflections in D”

“Don’t Get Down On Your Knees To Pray”

“Father Forgive”

“Praise God And Dance”

“Dance Finale”

Ticket Information

Tickets, priced $15-35, are available at the Carnegie Hall Box Office, 154 West 57th Street, Manhattan, or can be charged by calling CarnegieCharge at 212-247-7800 or by visiting the Carnegie Hall website.