Diana Krall to Release New Album, ‘Glad Rag Doll,’ Sept. 25

“A song and dance record” featuring songs from the 1920s and ’30s

Diana Krall image 0
Mark Seliger

Diana Krall

Diana Krall will release a new album, Glad Rag Doll, on Verve Records on Sept. 25. Produced by T Bone Burnett and engineered by Mike Piersante, the recording was made using analog tape, with Krall playing an 1890s Steinway upright piano. Featuring “’20s or ’30s songs as imagined for the 21st century,” according to a press release, the album is described by Krall simply as “a song and dance record.”

Featured musicians

Marc Ribot (Electric Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, 6 String Bass and Banjo),

T Bone Burnett (Guitars),

Howard Coward (Ukulele, Mandola, Tenor Guitar, Harmony Vocals),

Jay Bellerose (Drums),

Dennis Crouch (Bass),

Bryan Sutton (Guitars),

Colin Linden (Guitars, Dobro)

Keefus Green (Keyboards, Mellotron).

Track listing

1. We Just Couldn’t Say Goodbye (Woods)

2. There Ain’t No Sweet Man That’s Worth the Salt of My Tears (Fisher)

3. Just Like a Butterfly That’s Caught in the Rain (Dixon/Woods)

4. You Know I Know Ev’rything’s Made for Love (Sherman/Tobias/Johnson)

5. Glad Rag Doll (Ager/Dougherty/Yellen)

6. I’m A Little Mixed Up (James/Johnson)

7. Prairie Lullaby (Hill)

8. Here Lies Love (Rainger/Robin)

9. I Used to Love You But It’s All Over Now (von Tilzer/Brown)

10. Let it Rain (Kendis/Dyson)

11. Lonely Avenue (Pomus)

12. Wide River to Cross (Miller/Miller)

13.When the Curtain Comes Down (Hoefle/Lewis/Sherman)

Listen to “There Ain’t No Sweet Man That’s Worth the Salt of My Tears” from the upcoming album.