Concord Jazz Plans New Releases from Carrington, Hiromi, Klugh, Others

Patricia Barber, NEXT Collective, Pete Escovedo also on schedule

Patricia Barber
Earl Klugh

1 of 2   Next

Concord Jazz has announced its release schedule for the first quarter of 2013. New titles will be released from Hiromi, Pete Escovedo, Elgar, Terri Lyne Carrington, Earl Klugh, NEXT Collective, Patrica Barber and more. The complete list is below, with descriptions taken from a press release from the label.

Elgar: Cello Concerto/Zuill Bailey/Krzysztof Urbanski/Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra (Jan. 15)

This latest album-Elgar’s fifth with Telarc and second with the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra-is the followup to his previous chart-topping album, which won Gramophone’s Editor’s Choice Award. The Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra also presents selections from MáVlast, Bedřich Smetana’s patriotic musical ode to his home country, Czechoslovakia.

Pete Escovedo: Live From Stern Grove Festival (Jan. 15)

A new release from legendary timbales player and bandleader Pete Escovedo that captures a live show he played last year at Stern Grove Festival, the legendary 75-year-old San Francisco cultural venue and institution. Special guests include trumpeter Arturo Sandoval, guitarist Ray Obiedo, saxophonist Dave Koz, and conga player/vocalist Sheila E.

Patricia Barber: Smash (Jan. 22)

On Patricia Barber’s debut on Concord Jazz, the imaginative pianist, vocalist and composer continues her crusade to retrieve the ground that jazz musicians long ago ceded to pop and rock: the realm of the intelligent and committed singer-songwriter. With a new band and a dozen new compositions, she tackles even familiar subjects (like love and loss) with a nuance and depth beyond the limits of the Great American Songbook. Audiophiles should know that Smash reunites Barber with recording engineer Jim Anderson. HDTracks and Mastered for iTunes versions will be available.

Kendrick Scott Oracle: Conviction (Jan. 29)

Kendrick Scott is highly regarded as one of the premier drummers of his generation. His band, Kendrick Scott’s Oracle (KSO), will release its second recording, Conviction, which showcases Scott’s incredible subtlety and intensity and highlights his strengths as a drummer, composer and a leader. This personal narrative album is a snapshot of the band in its full emotive, unique and magnetic sound. The work focuses on what it takes to live, act and love with Conviction. Scott penned half of the album and the other compositions included are by Herbie Hancock, Broadcast, Sufjan Stevens and more. KSO is a band comprised of like-minded individuals Taylor Eigsti, Joe Sanders, John Ellis, Mike Moreno and Kendrick Scott. This album was co-produced by Derrick Hodge and features guest appearances by singer/ songwriter Alan Hampton.

Terri Lyne Carrington: Money Jungle: Provocative In Blue (Feb. 5)

The release of GRAMMY®-winning drummer, composer and bandleader Terri Lyne Carrington’s homage to Duke Ellington, Charles Mingus and Max Roach is scheduled to coincide with the 50th anniversary of their iconic 1963 Money Jungle album. Carrington enlists the aid of two high-profile collaborators-keyboardist Gerald Clayton and bassist Christian McBride-to pay tribute to Duke, his trio and his creative vision with a cover of this historic recording. Guests include trumpeter Clark Terry, trombonist Robin Eubanks, reed players Tia Fuller and Antonio Hart, guitarist Nir Felder, percussionist Arturo Stabile and vocalists Shea Rose and Lizz Wright. Herbie Hancock closes the album quoting Ellington, with observations about the role of music in society and the popularity of money versus the popularity of art.

Erin Boheme: What a Life (Feb. 5)

Singer/songwriter Erin Boheme has established herself as a formidable figure in the long and rich tradition of original female vocalists. She is a versatile artist with the capacity to transcend widely accepted musical boundaries and embrace a broad range of innovative styles on the musical landscape. In What a Life, produced by Michael Bublé, she expands her artistic reach with a collection of ten songs which showcase her evolving skills as a songwriter while exploring even more of the diverse terrain of American popular music.

Otis Taylor: My World is Gone (Feb. 12)

For Otis Taylor’s new release, Mato Nanji from Indigenous joins him on six of the tracks. In addition to adding his dynamic guitar playing to the songs, Nanji joins in on vocals, a first for Otis Taylor albums. My World is Gone features Taylor’s trance-like reflections on subjects of social injustice, including the early injustices of the Native-American plight.

The Slide Brothers: Robert Randolph Presents: The Slide Brothers (Feb. 19)

The Slide Brothers are Calvin Cooke, Chuck Campbell, Darick Campbell and Aubrey Ghent-the greatest living musicians who embody the Sacred Steel tradition. The joyous music these legendary artists create extends far beyond scared steel to encompass blues, rock and soul all celebrated with a sound that is uniquely their own. The goal of Robert Randolph, the most successful artist to emerge from the Sacred Steel tradition, is to share the extraordinary talents of these legendary masters with audiences throughout the world.

NEXT Collective: Cover Art (Feb. 26)

NEXT Collective is the next generation of modern musicians and is comprised of rising stars: saxophonists Logan Richardson and Walter Smith III, guitarist Matthew Stevens, keyboardists Gerald Clayton and Kris Bowers, bassist Ben Williams, drummer Jamire Williams and special guest trumpeter Christian Scott (aka Christian aTunde Adjuah). The album is titled Cover Art and is an ensemble recording of this new generation of jazz greats exploring their own interpretations of songs by such contemporary artists as Bon Iver, Drake, N.E.R.D, Little Dragon and more.

Earl Klugh: title TBD (March 5)

In a recording career of over three decades, master guitarist Earl Klugh has been lauded as a prodigy and a groundbreaker, then a defining figure and ultimately, as one of the true statesmen of contemporary jazz. Klugh’s highly-anticipated Concord debut is a self-produced solo album with guest guitarists Bill Frisell, Vince Gill and others to be confirmed.

Hiromi: Move (March 5)

For her latest Telarc release, pianist/composer Hiromi has assembled a trio that includes two veteran players: contra-bass guitarist Anthony Jackson (Paul Simon, the O’Jays, Steely Dan, Chick Corea) and drummer Simon Phillips (Toto, the Who, Judas Priest, David Gilmour, Jack Bruce). Hiromi says she started writing music for Move because “There’s so much more to their playing. As a composer, I really wanted to write the songs especially for them, and I wanted to extract the unique beauty of their playing.”

Spencer Day: The Mystery of You (March 22)

Since the 2009 release of Vagabond, Spencer Day’s debut Concord recording, the vocalist, songwriter, pianist has been on a journey of self-exploration. Now Day returns with a new story to tell and a wiser perspective about himself and the world. That story-rooted in his own experience, yet filled with revelations and truths that are universal to any human being who has ever put his or her heart at risk-is captured in the 14 tracks of The Mystery of You.