ASCAP Announces Deems Taylor Award Winners

Outstanding music journalism cited, including several jazz works

John Hammond and Aretha Franklin
Black Sabbath guitarist (and jazz fan) Tony Iommi
Pannonica de Koenigswarter with Thelonious Monk
Billy Bang

1 of 4   Next

The winners of the 44th annual ASCAP Deems Taylor Awards for outstanding print, broadcast and new media coverage of music have been announced. Several works related to jazz were among those cited.

ASCAP (the American Society of Composers, Authors & Publishers) established the awards in 1967 to honor the memory of composer/critic/commentator Deems Taylor, who died in 1966.

The winners will be honored at a special invitation-only ceremony and reception on November 14 at ASCAP’s New York offices.

Among the year’s awards were these with jazz content:

JazzTimes editor Evan Haga was recognized for his article “Night and Day: Jazz Meets Heavy Metal,” published in the July/August 2011 issue of the magazine. The article can be read in its entirety here.

The Timothy White Award for Outstanding Musical Biography in the pop music field has been awarded to David Kastin for his book, Nica’s Dream: The Life and Legend of the Jazz Baroness, published by W.W. Norton & Company.

• Clark Terry and Gwen Terry are recognized for Clark: The Autobiography of Clark Terry, published by University of California Press.

• Daphne Brooks was noticed for her liner notes to Take a Look: Aretha Franklin Complete on Columbia, released by Columbia/Legacy.

• Ed Hazell won for his liner notes to Billy Bang’s Survival Ensemble’s Black Man’s Blues, released by NoBusiness Records.

The members of the ASCAP Deems Taylor Awards Judging Panel for 2012 are Paul Moravec, Daniel Felsenfeld, Jonathan David, Richard Miller, Julie Flanders, David Massengill, Matthew Shipp, Pat Irwin and John Wesley Harding.