AACM to Be Honored by Chamber Music America on Jan. 20

The NYC event will feature an award presentation, performances by AACM members, and a live interview with Henry Threadgill

A Musical Tribute To Dr. Muhal Richard Abrams, The Community Chu

Henry Threadgill (left) and George E. Lewis at “A Musical Tribute to Dr. Muhal Richard Abrams”; the Community Church of New York – Jan. 29, 2018 (Credit: Alan Nahigian)

Chamber Music America, the nonprofit organization that supports small-ensemble professionals, will honor the Association for the Advancement of Creative Musicians (AACM) with the Richard J. Bogomolny National Service Award as part of its 2019 National Conference, on Sunday, Jan. 20. The event will be held in the Majestic Ballroom at New York’s Westin Hotel at Times Square, 270 W. 43rd St. (at 8th Avenue). Doors open at 10:45 a.m.

The AACM, founded in Chicago in 1965, is one of the most influential avant-garde musical organizations of the 20th century. Its members have included Muhal Richard Abrams, Anthony Braxton, Nicole Mitchell, and Henry Threadgill, the Pulitzer Prize-winning composer who will appear at the National Conference in conversation with jazz critic Larry Blumenfeld, who writes for The Wall Street Journal, among other publications.

There will also be performances from AACM members such as pianist Amina Claudine Myers along with Reggie Nicholson, Adegoke Steve Colson, and Ernest Dawkins, who collectively make up the AACM Trio.

The award will be presented to Ernest Dawkins from the AACM’s Chicago chapter and Richarda Abrams from its New York City chapter.

Attendees of this ceremony must be registered for the CMA National Conference. For more information, go here.

Read Henry Threadgill, Muhal Richard Abrams, Jack DeJohnette, and Roscoe Mitchell discussing the Association for the Advancement of Creative Musicians on its 50th anniversary for JazzTimes.