2012 NEA Jazz Masters Recipients Announced

Jack DeJohnette, Von Freeman, Charlie Haden, Sheila Jordan & Jimmy Owens Honored

Von Freeman
Charlie Haden
Jack DeJohnette

1 of 3   Next

The National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) has announced the five recipients of the 2012 NEA Jazz Masters Award, the nation’s highest honor in jazz. The honor will be bestowed upon drummer, keyboardist and composer Jack DeJohnette, saxophonist Von Freeman, bassist, composer and educator Charlie Haden, vocalist and educator Sheila Jordan and educator, trumpeter, flugelhorn player, composer and arranger Jimmy Owens. Owens will receive the A.B. Spellman NEA Jazz Masters Award for Jazz Advocacy.

Each of the five recipients will take home a one-time award of $25,000 and be publicly honored at the annual NEA Jazz Masters awards ceremony and concert, produced by Jazz at Lincoln Center at its home, Frederick P. Rose Hall in New York City.

“These artists represent the highest level of artistic mastery and we are proud to recognize their achievements,” said NEA Chairman Rocco Landesman in a statement circulated to the media. “Through their contributions, we have been challenged, enlightened and charmed, and we thank them for devoting their careers to expanding and supporting their art forms.”

“Jazz is considered by many as one of America’s greatest cultural gifts to the world,” said Wayne S. Brown, NEA Director of Music and Opera. “These artists are being recognized for their extraordinary contribution to advancing the art form and for serving as mentors for a new generation of young aspiring jazz musicians.”

Full profiles of the five recipients are posted on the
NEA Jazz Masters website.