Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

SFJAZZ Announces Schedule for 2017-18 Season

Over 300 concerts with an all-star roster of featured performers

Dee Dee Bridgewater (photo by Greg Miles)
Dee Dee Bridgewater (photo by Greg Miles)

SFJAZZ has announced its artist programming for the 2017-18 season running from Sept. 7 2017 to May 27, 2018, with over 300 concerts scheduled at SFJAZZ Center’s Robert N. Miner Auditorium and Joe Henderson Lab, Herbst Theatre and the Paramount Theatre in Oakland, Calif.

Featured performers include Joey Alexander, Kenny Barron, The Bad Plus, Dee Dee Bridgewater, Anat Cohen, Ravi Coltrane, Robert Glasper, Philip Glass & Kronos Quartet, GoGo Penguin, Hiromi, Abdullah Ibrahim & Hugh Masekela, Vijay Iyer, Christian McBride, Maceo Parker, Gregory Porter, Joshua Redman & Zakir Hussain, Gonzalo Rubalcaba & Pedrito Martinez, Dianne Reeves, Pharoah Sanders, SFJAZZ Collective, Matthew Shipp, Snarky Puppy, Lizz Wright and many more.

In a press release sent to JazzTimes, SFJAZZ founder and artistic director Randall Kline states, “The SFJAZZ Center was conceived as a community gathering place for artists and audiences to come together in an environment that encourages engagement and dialogue. When that connection occurs we can be witness to something that moves us, something that makes us feel better for the experience and what can be described as a ‘transcendent moment.’

“Since the SFJAZZ Center opened in January 2013, we have been fortunate to experience a number of these memorable dialogues and moments. The programming of the new season is presented to create even more of those moments and to continue embracing and encouraging more musical conversations.”

Christian McBride, Vijay Iyer, Mary Stallings and Rosanne Cash remain in place as resident artistic directors for the second year of their two-year appointment.

Tickets and ticket packages are on sale now for SFJAZZ members, with availability to the general public beginning July 15. For more information, including the full performance schedule, visit

Originally Published