Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Library of Congress Announces 2017-2018 Concert Season

Series to feature world premiere of new commission by Esperanza Spalding, plus performances by McCoy Tyner, Joe Lovano and Julian Lage

Esperanza Spalding photo for Library of Congress concert
Esperanza Spalding (photo by Farrad Ali)

The Library of Congress in Washington, DC announced the details of its 2017-2018 concert season which includes a bevy of premieres and special performances of which a handful are focused on jazz.  Included in that jazz programming is a new commission for violin and piano by Esperanza Spalding, though perhaps the end result musically may be more in line with the other commissions by Harrison Birtwistle and Quatuor Diotima, modern classical composers all.

The series includes a performance on Friday, December 8 by McCoy Tyner with special guest Joe Lovano. And on Thursday, March 18, 2018, guitarist Julian Lage makes his debut at the Library with a set featuring his trio of Scott Colley and Kenny Wolleson.

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published