BRIC Announces Lineup for BRIC Celebrate Brooklyn! Festival

Headliners include Patti LaBelle, Chucho Valdés, and Liz Phair

Curtis Fowlkes at the 2018 BRIC JazzFest
Curtis Fowlkes at the 2018 BRIC JazzFest (photo: Alan Nahigian)

BRIC, the nonprofit Brooklyn arts organization, has announced the lineup for its annual Celebrate Brooklyn! Festival, now in its 41st year.

The festival will feature 29 performance from a variety of entertainers and is scheduled to run June 4 through August 10.

The festival kicks off with a free opening-night concert by legendary soul singer Patti LaBelle. Other headlining acts include alt-rocker Liz Phair, Iron & Wine, Tortoise, and the great Cuban jazz pianist Chucho Valdés, who performs on June 26 at the Prospect Park Bandshell.

Though 25 of the performances are free and open to the public—the four remaining shows are ticketed events—there is a suggested donation of $5.

For the schedule, see below. For additional artist information, go here.

BRIC Celebrate Brooklyn! Festival 2019 Lineup

Tuesday, June 4, 8 p.m.
BET Opening Night Concert
PATTI LABELLE
Free

Opening Night REVEL (Fundraiser), 5:30 p.m. | After-Party with Natasha Diggs (Ticketed), 9:30 p.m.

Saturday, June 8, 7 p.m.
American Express Women in Music Series
IBEYI | SUDAN ARCHIVES | ORION SUN
Free

Wednesday, June 12, 7 p.m.
THE NATIONAL AND COURTNEY BARNETT
Ticketed BRIC Celebrate Brooklyn! Benefit Concert
Sold Out

Thursday, June 13, 7 p.m.
THE NATIONAL AND COURTNEY BARNETT
Ticketed BRIC Celebrate Brooklyn! Benefit Concert
$59.50 (General Admission – Standing)
Tickets can be purchased by visiting BRICArtsMedia.org or Eventbrite.com

Saturday, June 15, 3 p.m.
Family Concert
RICH MEDINA | SHAREEF KEYES AND THE GROOVE
Free

Wednesday, June 19, 6:30 p.m.
FATHER JOHN MISTY | JASON ISBELL AND THE 400 UNIT | JADE BIRD
Ticketed BRIC Celebrate Brooklyn! Benefit Concert
$65 (General Admission – Standing)
Tickets can be purchased by visiting BRICArtsMedia.org or Eventbrite.com

Thursday, June 20, 7:30 p.m.
TANK AND THE BANGAS | CORY HENRY & THE FUNK APOSTLES
Free

Friday, June 21, 7:30 p.m.
Bud Light Music Series
CALEXICO AND IRON & WINE | ADIA VICTORIA
Free

Saturday, June 22, 7:30 p.m.
TORTOISE: TNT | EMILY WELLS WITH METROPOLIS ENSEMBLE
Free

Wednesday, June 26, 7:30 p.m.
CHUCHO VALDÈS – JAZZ BATÁ | DAFNIS PRIETO SI O SI QUARTET
Free

Additional sponsorship provided by Goya.

Thursday, June 27, 7:30 p.m.
Bud Light Music Series
PROTOJE | JAH9 | YOGA ON DUB | DJ TOP NOTCH & MICRO DON
Free

Additional sponsorship provided by Goya.

Friday, June 28, 7:30 p.m.
CELSO PIÑA | DOS SANTOS | RIOBAMBA
Free

Additional sponsorship provided by Goya.

Saturday, June 29, 7 p.m.
American Express Women in Music Series
LIZ PHAIR | TED LEO AND THE PHARMACISTS | CAROLINE ROSE
Free

Friday, July 5, 7:30 p.m.
MICK JENKINS | LEIKELI47 | LEVEN KALI | JOY POSTELL
Free

Saturday, July 6, 7 p.m.
ODDISEE | 47SOUL | NARCY
Free

Friday, July 12, 7 p.m.
Eventbrite Music Series
Latin Alternative Music Conference (LAMC) Showcase
GABY MORENO AND VAN DYKE PARKS: SPANGLED | ENJAMBRE | El DAVID AGUILAR
Free

Saturday, July 13, 7:30 p.m.
SALIF KEITA | COURTNEE ROZE
Free

Thursday, July 18, 7:30 p.m.
American Express Women in Music Series
I’M WITH HER | DARLINGSIDE
Free

Friday, July 19, 7:30 p.m.
Bud Light Music Series
BURNA BOY | SAMPA THE GREAT | DJ TUNEZ
Free

Saturday, July 20, 8 p.m.
Music & Movies
ALLOY ORCHESTRA: VARIETÉ | LAVA
Free

Thursday, July 25, 7:30 p.m.
Bud Light Music Series
SURPRISE HEADLINER | NILÜFER YANYA
Free

Friday, July 26, 7:30 p.m.
Eventbrite Music Series
JIDENNA | ANIK KHAN | DJ MOMA
Free

Saturday, July 27, 8 p.m.
COMPAGNIE HERVÈ KOUBI
Free

Friday, August 2, 7 p.m.
NOSAJ THING DJ SET | KIMBRA | BELLS ATLAS
Free

Saturday, August 3, 7:30 p.m.
Music & Movies
CROUCHING TIGER, HIDDEN DRAGON | LOU REED TAI CHI DAY
Free

Tuesday, August 6, 7:30 p.m.
MAC DEMARCO
Ticketed BRIC Celebrate Brooklyn! Benefit Concert
$45 (General Admission – Standing)
Tickets can be purchased by visiting BRICArtsMedia.org or Eventbrite.com.

Thursday, August 8, 8 p.m.
AILEY II
Free

Friday, August 9, 7:30 p.m.
WHAT’S GOING ON
FEATURING FELICIA COLLINS, TOSHI REAGON, SIEDAH GARRETT, KECIA LEWIS, AND OTHERS
Free

Saturday, August 10, 7:30 p.m.
Eventbrite Music Series
BOMBA ESTÈREO | DELSONIDO
Free