Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

2022 TD James Moody Jazz Festival Announces Lineup

Series of shows at NJPAC in Newark Nov. 8-20 to feature Terence Blanchard, Dee Dee Bridgewater & Savion Glover, Maria Schneider Orchestra, Regina Carter and more

Dee Dee Bridgewater (photo by Mark Higashino)
Dee Dee Bridgewater (photo by Mark Higashino)

The New Jersey Performing Arts Center (NJPAC), based in Newark, has announced the lineup for the TD James Moody Jazz Festival, named for the legendary saxophonist who, although born in Savannah, Ga., was raised in that New Jersey city. The festival, to be held Nov. 8-20, features a series of jazz-focused concerts and special events that also include dance, spoken word, hip-hop, and film. 

After “A Beautiful Bond,” a virtual jazz and poetry event co-hosted by Christian McBride and Reggie Workman on Nov. 8, the festival kicks off with two concerts on Nov. 10: Terence Blanchard with his E-Collective and the Turtle Island Quartet, and Fantasia with Jazzmeia Horn. Dance figures into the festival on at least two occasions, including a concert on Nov. 12 with Dee Dee Bridgewater and Savion Glover performing their own sets as well as one together. On Nov. 16, the New Jersey-based dance troupe Carolyn Dorfman Dance collaborates with Regina Carter for the world premiere of Jazz Legends and The Power of Now!, also featuring the recordings of Louis Prima. Another multi-genre event is Represent! A Night of Jazz, Hip-Hop and Spoken Word with Chuck D, Nikki Giovanni, Christian McBride and others on Nov. 19. Also on that same day, the recent documentary Oscar Peterson: Black + White will be shown. Other concerts include Jon Faddis (Nov. 12), Yellowjackets (Nov. 13), Isaac Delgado and Alain Perez (Nov. 18), Maria Schneider Orchestra (Nov. 19), and the Vanessa Rubin Trio (Nov. 20).

The festival concludes with the 11th Annual Sarah Vaughan International Jazz Vocal Competition on Nov. 20. The competition, which will be hosted by WBGO’s Gary Walker, will be adjudicated by a panel of Regina Carter, Christian McBride, T.S. Monk, Pat Prescott, and Maria Schneider. Past winners include Cyrille Aimée, Jazzmeia Horn, Ashleigh Smith, Arianna Neikrug, Deelee Dubé, Quiana Lynell, Laurin Talese, Samara Joy, Gabrielle Cavassa and Tawanda Suessbrich-Joaquim, and G. Thomas Allen.

For more information about the TD James Moody Jazz Festival, visit NJPAC’s website.