Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

The 2014 Expanded Critics Poll

JT's critics choose their favorite musicians, books, festivals and more

Miguel Zenón
Dr. Lonnie Smith
Cécile McLorin Salvant
Mark Turner

For this year’s Expanded Critics’ Poll, a follow-up to last issue’s

Year in Review feature, 30 of our trusted contributors participated

in an online survey featuring most of the same categories

as our yearly Readers’ Poll. Our writers were asked to focus on

artists’ achievements during 2014 rather than career accomplishments.

Winners are bolded; runners-up are listed below in order of number of points. THE EDITORS

Best of All

New Artist
Melissa Aldana

Julian Lage

David Virelles

Jon Batiste

Artist of the Year
Miguel Zenón

Ambrose Akinmusire

Bill Frisell

Mark Turner


Acoustic Group/Artist
Jason Moran & the Bandwagon

Tom Harrell Colors of a Dream/Trip

Ambrose Akinmusire Quintet/Sextet

Charles Lloyd New Quartet

Electric/Fusion/Contemporary Group/Artist
Pat Metheny Unity Group

Dave Holland Prism

Robert Glasper Experiment

Eric Harland Voyager

Big Band/Large Ensemble
Maria Schneider Orchestra

Arturo O’Farrill’s Afro Latin Jazz Orchestra

Orrin Evans’ Captain Black Big Band

Henry Butler/Steven Bernstein & the Hot 9

Vocal Group
New York Voices

The Manhattan Transfer


Sweet Honey in the Rock

Blues Group/Artist
Tedeschi Trucks Band

Dr. John

Gary Clark Jr.

Bettye LaVette

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published