Wynton Marsalis/Eric Clapton Concert Coming to CD/DVD

Sold-Out Lincoln Center gigs featured duets on classic blues and more

Wynton Marsalis & Eric Clapton "Play the Blues" at Jazz at Lincoln Center
Wynton Marsalis, Eric Clapton & Taj Mahal at Jazz at Lincoln Center

Reprise Records will release Wynton Marsalis & Eric Clapton Play The Blues-Live From Jazz at Lincoln Center September 13 on CD and in a deluxe CD/DVD combo package. The two musicians collaborated on two sold-out shows April 8-9 at the Rose Theater at Frederick P. Rose Hall, home of Jazz at Lincoln Center.

Marsalis and Clapton were accompanied by Dan Nimmer (piano), Carlos Henriquez (bass), Ali Jackson (drums), Marcus Printup (trumpet), Victor Goines (clarinet), Chris Crenshaw (trombone, vocals), Don Vappie (banjo) and Clapton’s longtime keyboarist/sideman, Chris Stainton.

The DVD will also feature a bonus performance of the classic “Stagger Lee” from legendary bluesman Taj Mahal’s opening solo set.

Read JazzTimes editor Evan Haga’s review of the concert.

CD and DVD Track Listing

1. Ice Cream

2. Forty-Four

3. Joe Turner’s Blues

4. The Last Time

5. Careless Love

6. Kidman Blues

7. Layla

8. Joliet Bound

9. Just A Closer Walk With Thee (feat. Taj Mahal)

10. Corrine, Corrina (feat. Taj Majal)

Bonus Track on DVD only: Stagger Lee by Taj Mahal

Jeff Tamarkin

Jeff Tamarkin on social media

Jeff Tamarkin is the former editor of Goldmine, CMJ, Relix, and Global Rhythm. As a writer he has contributed to the New York Daily News, JazzTimes, Boston Phoenix, Harp, Mojo, Newsday, Billboard, and many other publications. He is the author of the book Got a Revolution: The Turbulent Flight of Jefferson Airplane and has contributed to The Guinness Companion to Popular Music, All Music Guide, and several other encyclopedias. He has also served as a consultant to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, NARAS, National Geographic Online, and Music Club Records.