Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Wayne Shorter Re-Signs with Blue Note After 43-Year Gap

New live album, ‘Without a Net,’ due in February

Wayne Shorter Quartet

Saxophonist and composer Wayne Shorter has re-signed to Blue Note Records after a 43-year gap and will release a new album, Without A Net, on February 5. The recording features Shorter’s quartet with pianist Danilo Perez, bassist John Patitucci and drummer Brian Blade. Shorter will turn 80 next year.

Without A Net is a nine-track album, all but one of which were recorded live last year in Europe. That exception is “Pegasus,” a 23-minute piece described as a “tone poem” and recorded with the Imani Winds at Walt Disney Concert Hall in Los Angeles. The album features six new Shorter compositions, as well as new versions of his tunes “Orbits” (from Miles Davis’ Miles Smiles album) and “Plaza Real” (from the Weather Report album Procession). The set also includes the title song from the 1933 musical film Flying Down To Rio.

Track listing

1. Orbits (4:49)

2. Starry Night (8:48)

3. S. S. Golden Mean (5:17)

4. Plaza Real (6:56)

5. Myrrh (3:03)

6. Pegasus (23:06)

7. Flying Down to Rio (12:44)

8. Zero Gravity (8:13)

9. UFO (4:12)

Originally Published