Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Vijay Iyer Trio to Release New ECM Album, “Break Stuff,” Feb. 10

Recorded last June the album is Iyer’s third for the label

Vijay Iyer Trio in performance at the 2013 Montreal International Jazz Festival

The Vijay Iyer Trio will release Break Stuff (ECM) on Feb. 10, the label has announced. The trio features pianist Iyer, bassist Stephan Crump and drummer Marcus Gilmore, now in its 11th year.

Explaining the album title, Iyer said, in a press release, “‘Break Stuff’ is what transpires after formal elements have been addressed.”

The album was recorded in June 2014 at New York’s Avatar Studio and produced by Manfred Eicher. it is the third ECM release from Iyer.

Originally Published