Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Two-CD Set Due from Guitarist Arto Lindsay

One live solo disc and one retrospective collection

Northern Spy Records will release a two-disc set of Brazilian guitarist Arto Lindsay’s solo work, Encyclopedia of Arto. The set includes collaborations with artists such as Melvin Gibbs, Ryuichi Sakamoto, Brian Eno and more. The second disc features previously unreleased, live solo recordings from 2012. The release date in the United States is May 20.

According to a press release, the first CD includes tracks that Lindsay has chosen from his solo albums of 1996-2004: O Corpo Sutil, Mundo Civilizado, Noon Chill, Prize, Invoke and Salt, which include tracks Lindsay wrote with Amedeo Pace (Blonde Redhead), Marisa Monte, Caetano Veloso, Kassin, Vinicius Cantuaria, Andrés Levin and Melvin Gibbs.

The second disc consists of guitar and vocals only. Besides an unreleased track titled “Pony,” it includes tracks from the aforementioned solo albums, including covers of Prince and Al Green, as well as unreleased covers by Chico Buarque and more.

Originally Published