Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Two Bing Crosby Titles Reissued

"Johnny Mercer Songbook" and "Le Bing"

Bing Crosby

Bing Crosby Enterprises has released two new CDs through Universal Music Enterprises, Bing Sings the Johnny Mercer Songbook and Le Bing: Song Hits of Paris-60th Anniversary Deluxe Edition.

Bing Sings the Johnny Mercer Songbook is a new compilation celebrating Crosby’s recordings of songs composed by his friend and frequent collaborator, Johnny Mercer. The recordings span more than two decades, starting with a rare 1934 radio performance of “P.S. I Love You.” Other highlights include “Lazy Bones,” a duet with Louis Armstrong, and several of Bing’s Decca hits like “Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate the Positive,” which features the Andrews Sisters, and “Mr. Meadowlark,” a duet with Mercer. Also included among the 22 selections are 10 previously unissued recordings, including “That Old Black Magic,” “Jeepers Creepers,” “Glow Worm,” and “Autumn Leaves.”

Bing Sings The Johnny Mercer Songbook

1. P.S. I Love You

2. I’m An Old Cowhand

3. Too Marvelous for Words

4. You Must Have Been a Beautiful Baby

5. Day In, Day Out

6. I Thought About You

7. Mister Meadowlark (w/ Johnny Mercer)

8. Skylark

9. Blues in the Night

10. That Old Black Magic

11. On the Atchison, Topeka and the Santa Fe

12. Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate the Positive (w/ the Andrews Sisters)

13. Lazy Bones (w/ Louis Armstrong)

14. Autumn Leaves

15. In The Cool Cool Cool of the Evening

16. Jamboree Jones

17. When the World Was Young (Ah, the Apple Trees)

18. Glow Worm

19. Jeepers Creepers

20. And The Angels Sing

21. Something’s Gotta Give

22. P.S. I Love You

The CD release of Le Bing: Song Hits of Paris-60th Anniversary Deluxe Edition is the first-ever reissue of Crosby’s first LP. The original 1953 release, recorded in Paris with Crosby singing in French, was an eight-song, 10-inch album and one of the first concept albums ever made. Crosby’s French language recordings include “La Vie en Rose” and “Mademoiselle de Paris.” The anniversary edition expands Le Bing to 23 tracks, 12 never before released, including rare studio outtakes and several English language bonus tracks, including a pair of Cole Porter favorites, “I Love Paris” and “Allez Vous En (Go Away.)”

Le Bing: Song Hits of Paris-60th Anniversary Deluxe Edition

Original album, remastered:

1. Mademoiselle de Paris

2. Embrasse-Moi Bien

3. Mon Couer est un Violin

4. La Vie en Rose

5. La Seine

6. Au Bord de l’eau

7. La Mer

8. Tu Ne Peux Pas Te Figurer

Bonus Content:

9. Allez Vous En

10. Domino

11. C’est Si Bon (w/ Jane Morgan)

12. Where Is Your Heart (Song from Moulin Rouge)

13. I Love Paris

14. Medley (w/ Lindsay Crosby): And He’d Say Ooh-La-La, Wee Wee

How You Gonna Keep ’em Down on the Farm (After They’ve Seen Paree)

Oui Oui, Marie

15. Mademoiselle de Paris (English) U.S. DECCA SINGLE

16. Embrasse-Moi Bien (Hold Me Close) (English)

17. Embrasse-Moi Bien (French)

18. Mon Couer est un Violin (false start, breakdown & take 4)

19. Cela M’Est Egal (If It’s All The Same To You) (w/ Lindsay Crosby)

20. La Seine (English w/ last chorus in French)

21. La Seine (pickup French chorus)

22. La Seine (English w/ last chorus in French)

Originally Published