Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Trumpeter Charles Tolliver to Receive 2019 Living Legacy Jazz Award

Award ceremony set for Oct. 11 in Philadelphia

Charles Tolliver (photo: Gene Jackson)
Charles Tolliver (photo: Gene Jackson)

Trumpeter, composer, arranger, and bandleader Charles Tolliver will receive the 2019 Living Legacy Jazz Award Presented by PECO in a special ceremony in Philadelphia on Friday, Oct. 11.

The Mid Atlantic Arts Foundation sponsors the program, which honors living jazz masters from the mid-Atlantic region who have achieved distinction in jazz performance and education. The 2019 event marks the 25th anniversary of the Living Legacy Jazz Award and the 40th anniversary of the Mid Atlantic Arts Foundation.

The event will include a reception in Philadelphia’s Kimmel Center, located at 300 Broad Street. Marcus Roberts and the Modern Jazz Generation Band and guest Toshiko Akiyoshi, the 2018 Living Legacy honoree, will perform in a special concert at the Perelman Theater at 8 p.m.   

Charles Tolliver made his recording debut with saxophonist Jackie McLean on Blue Note Records in 1964. In a career that has spanned five decades, he has recorded or performed with artists such as Roy Haynes, Hank Mobley, Willie Bobo, Horace Silver, McCoy Tyner, Sonny Rollins, Booker Ervin, Gary Bartz, the Gerald Wilson Orchestra, Oliver Nelson, Stanley Cowell, Herbie Hancock, Andrew Hill, Louis Hayes, Art Blakey & the Jazz Messengers, and Roy Ayers; he also owned the trumpet chair with the great Max Roach for many years. He received a Grammy nomination for his 2007 Blue Note recording With Love. His latest recording, Emperor March, was recorded live at the Blue Note club in New York City.

Previous Living Legacy Jazz Award winners include Odean Pope, Ron Carter, Gary Bartz, Joanne Brackeen, Nathan Davis, Muhal Richard Abrams, Phil Woods, Roy Haynes, Dr. Frank Foster, Kenny Barron, Benny Golson, Oliver Lake, Rufus Reid, Randy Weston, Keter Betts, Jimmy Heath, Joe Kennedy, Jr., Shirley Scott, Reggie Workman, Dr. Donald Byrd, Larry Ridley, Barry Harris, Robert “Boysie” Lowery, and Clark Terry. A Millennium Award was conferred on Dr. Billy Taylor in 2000.


For more information on the 2019 Living Legacy Jazz Award Presented by PECO event, click here.