Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Taylor Ho Bynum Sextet & 7-Tette to Release 4-Album Set

“Navigation” out on Nov. 12

Firehouse 12 Records will release Navigation (The Complete Firehouse 12 Recordings), a four-album, multi-format set from cornetist and composer Taylor Ho Bynum, on Nov. 12. The project documents four different versions of Bynum’s modular composition “Navigation,” with two sets recorded live with his Sextet (featuring Jim Hobbs on alto saxophone, Bill Lowe on bass trombone and tuba, Mary Halvorson on guitar, Ken Filiano on bass and Tomas Fujiwara on drums and vibraphone), and two sets recorded in studio with the 7-tette (which adds drummer and vibraphonist Chad Taylor). The music was recorded over two days, December 7 and 8, 2012.

The live Sextet recordings (subtitled Possibility Abstracts X & XI) will be released as a limited edition double-LP, and the studio 7-tette recordings (Possibility Abstracts XII & XIII) will be released as a double-CD. The entire four-album set will be available digitally, and buyers of either the LPs or CDs will receive a complimentary download coupon for the entire body of music.

The Taylor Ho Bynum Sextet will also be embarking on a short East Coast tour in support of Navigation, with performances at Real Art Ways in Hartford, CT (11/7), The Lilypad in Cambridge, MA (11/8), The Jazz Gallery in New York City, NY (11/9), and Transparent Productions at Bohemian Caverns in Washington, DC (11/10).

Originally Published