Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Arturo Sandoval to Release Star-Studded Duets Album

Out May 18, "Ultimate Duets" features Al Jarreau, Pharrell Williams, Stevie Wonder and more

Arturo Sandoval
Arturo Sandoval (photo courtesy of the artist)

In his 40-plus-year career, Cuban-born trumpeter Arturo Sandoval has collaborated with countless major musical figures. He has never, however, made a recording that placed those collaborations into the intimate setting of a duet. On May 18, Sandoval finally achieves that benchmark with Universal Music Latino’s release of Ultimate Duets. The album includes Sandoval’s performance with Al Jarreau of the latter’s hit “After All”—the late vocalist’s final recording.

In addition to Jarreau, Ultimate Duets finds Sandoval performing with a wide range of duet partners from across the musical spectrum, including opera singer Placido Domingo, flamenco-inspired Spanish singer-songwriter Alejandro Sanz, ABBA vocalist Anni-Frid Lyngstad and legendary pop-music polymath Stevie Wonder. Sandoval also included a second posthumous performance, a collaboration with the iconic Cuban vocalist Celia Cruz—the trumpeter’s longtime friend who passed away in 2003.

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published