Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

R+R=NOW to Release Debut Album in June

All-star sextet led by Robert Glasper blends multiple genres on "Collagically Speaking"

Robert Glasper (photo by Mathieu Bitton)
Robert Glasper (photo by Mathieu Bitton)

On June 15, Blue Note Records will release Collagically Speaking, the first album by Robert Glasper’s new supergroup, R+R=NOW. Assembled last year by the keyboardist/producer for an all-star concert during the SXSW festival in Austin, Texas, the group also includes Terrace Martin on synthesizer and vocoder, Christian Scott aTunde Adjuah on trumpet, Taylor McFerrin (son of Bobby McFerrin) on synthesizer and beatbox, Derrick Hodge on bass and Justin Tyson on drums.

In addition to the instrumentalists, Collagically Speaking features several guest vocalists. On “Change of Tone,” the first track to be released from the album for streaming and downloading, R&B singer-songwriter Goapele takes the mic. Elsewhere, vocals are provided by a mix of actors, MCs and singers, including Yasiin Bey, a.k.a. Mos Def.

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published