Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Rolling Stones’ Charlie Watts to Lead Swing Band at Lincoln Center

Other Midsummer Night Swing shows announced

Orquestra Broadway

Charlie Watts, the drummer for the Rolling Stones since the band’s inception half a century ago, will bring his other passion, swing music and boogie woogie, to Lincoln Center’s Damrosch Park on June 28, as part of the annual Midsummer Night Swing series. Watts will perform with A,B,C & D of Boogie Woogie. The quartet, led by the German pianist Alex Zwingenberger, has never performed before in the United States.

Other shows in the series include the U.S. debut of a Brazilian forró group featuring Maciel Melo, Biliu de Campina and Walmir Silva, on July 13, along with Quarteto Olinda, another forró group.

According to the series’ website, other scheduled performances this summer include Mexican cumbia group Celso Piña (June 27); New Orleans swing band Meschiya Lake & Dem Little Big Horns (June 29); salsa and charanga group Orquesta Broadway (June 30); Crytzer’s Blue Rhythm Band (July 2); Johnny Colon & His Orchestra (July 3); British bhangra legends DCS July 5); singer-songwriter JD McPherson (July 7); the Mambo Legends Orchestra with special guests (July 10); tango group the Cristian Zárete Sextet (July 11); and the Losers Lounge, described as a collective devoted to funk and Motown music (July 12).

Concerts are held at the bandshell in Damrosch Park on West 62nd Street, and dance lessons are available. The series opens on June 26 with the Nelson Riddle Orchestra and ends July 14 with the Harlem Renaissance Orchestra.

Tickets are on sale now at Avery Fisher Hall; the cost is $17 for a single concert, $80 for a six-night pass and $160 for the full season.

For the full schedule, visit Midsummer Night Swing.

Originally Published