Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Resonance Records to Issue Unreleased Live Performances by Bill Evans

'Live at Art D’Lugoff’s Top of the Gate' was recorded in October 1968

Bill Evans at the piano

Resonance Records will release Live at Art D’Lugoff’s Top of the Gate, a previously unissued concert recording by piano legend Bill Evans, on June 12. The performance, dating from Oct. 23, 1968, at a famed New York club, features Evans’ trio with Eddie Gomez on bass and Marty Morell on drums. The two-disc package features two complete sets by the group from that evening and was aired only once, on Columbia University radio station WKCR-FM; the concert hasn’t been heard for more than 40years and has never been released in any form.

The recordingwas made by Resonance president George Klabin, then a 22-year-old recording engineer granted unprecedented access to the date by Evans’ longtime manager, Helen Keane. The album will be available in a two-CD deluxe digipak with a 28-page booklet. Additionally, a limited first-edition pressing of 3,000 hand-numbered three-LP 180-gram vinyl boxed sets will be made available, pressed by Record Technology Incorporated (R.T.I.), including a four-panel booklet featuring the same content as the CD booklet. This edition was pressed at 45 RPM for optimum sound and mastered by Bernie Grundman. The entire package will also be downloadable with an e-booklet (where available) for those who choose to purchase the album digitally.

Tracj List

Disc One – Set 1

1. Emily (Mandel & Mercer)

2. Witchcraft (C. Coleman)

3. Yesterdays (J. Kern)

4. Round Midnight (T. Monk)

5. My Funny Valentine (Rogers & Hart)

6. California Here I Come (De Sylva, Jolson & Myers)

7. Gone With The Wind (Magidson & Wrubel)

8. Alfie (B. Bacharach)

9. Turn Out The Stars (B. Evans)

Disc Two – Set 2

1. Yesterdays (J. Kern)

2. Emily (Mandel & Mercer)

3. Round Midnight (T. Monk)

4. In A Sentimental Mood (D. Ellington)

5. Autumn Leaves (J. Kosma)

6. Someday My Prince Will Come (Churchill & Morey)

7. Mother Of Earl (E. Zindar)

8. Here’s That Rainy Day (Burke & Van Heusen)


For further information on this and other Resonance Records releases, visit Resonance Records.

Originally Published