Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Recently Discovered Gil Evans Compositions to Be Recorded

Composer/producer Ryan Truesdell will release tribute album next spring

Ryan Truesdell

To mark the 100th anniversary of arranger-composer Gil Evans’ birth, composer/producer Ryan Truesdell will release an album featuring newly discovered Evans compositions. The CD will be released on May 13, 2012.

Truesdell and the group will also celebrate its release with four nights at New York’s Jazz Standard, from May 17-20, 2012.

Featured on the recording are such contemporary jazz artists as Lewis Nash, Charles Pillow, Frank Kimbrough, Donny McCaslin, Brian Landrus, Luciana Souza, Greg Gisbert, Joe Locke, Kate McGarry and many others. See below for full credits.

Truesdell (best known for his work with Maria Schneider and as co-producer of her award-winning album Sky Blue) is the first person outside of the Evans family to have been granted full access to the musical archives.

Having sifted through stacks of music-some full scores, some just sketches-Truesdell selected works that give participants and listeners a look at Evans’ musical world before and after his collaborations with Miles Davis. Recorded for the first time are a number of pieces dating back to Evans’ work in the late 1940s with the Claude Thornhill Orchestra, a few works written for singers (including one originally arranged for an Astrid Gilberto album but never used), and never-before-heard works for a 24-piece ensemble that includes oboes, bassoons, French horns and percussion.



Henrik Heide (flute, piccolo)

Dave Pietro (alto saxophone, clarinet, flute, alto flute)

Jesse Han (flute, piccolo, bass flute)

Jennifer Christen (oboe)

Sarah Lewis (oboe)

Charles Pillow (flute, piccolo, clarinet, oboe, English horn)

Ben Baron (bassoon)

Michael Rabinowitz (bassoon)

Alden Banta (bassoon, contra bassoon)

Steve Wilson (soprano saxophone, alto saxophone, flute, clarinet)

Donny McCaslin (tenor saxophone, clarinet)

Scott Robinson (tenor saxophone, clarinet, bass clarinet)

Brian Landrus (baritone saxophone, bass clarinet, alto flute, piccolo)


Adam Unsworth (French horn)

David Peel (French horn)

John Craig Hubbard (French horn)

Augie Haas (trumpet)

Greg Gisbert (trumpet)

Laurie Frink (trumpet)

Ryan Keberle (trombone)

Marshall Gilkes (trombone)

George Flynn (bass trombone)

Marcus Rojas (tuba)


James Chirillo (acoustic and electric guitar)

Romero Lubambo (acoustic guitar)

Frank Kimbrough (piano, harmonium)

Jay Anderson (bass)

Lewis Nash (drums)



Joe Locke (vibraphone)

Mike Truesdell (timpani, marimba)

Dave Eggar (tenor violin)

Dan Weiss (tabla)


Luciana Souza (voice on “Look to the Rainbow”)

Wendy Gilles (voice on “Beg Your Pardon”)

Kate McGarry (voice on “Smoking My Sad Cigarette”)

Ryan Truesdell (conductor, producer)

Engineer: James Farber

Originally Published