Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Toshiko Akiyoshi Receives BNY Mellon Jazz 2018 Living Legacy Award

Pianist and composer to be honored in fall Kennedy Center ceremony

Toshiko Akiyoshi
Toshiko Akiyoshi

The Japanese pianist, composer, arranger and bandleader Toshiko Akiyoshi will receive the BNY Mellon Jazz 2018 Living Legacy Award in a special ceremony at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington, D.C., on Friday, Oct. 19. The award, administered by the Mid Atlantic Arts Foundation, recognizes living jazz masters from the mid-Atlantic region who have achieved distinction in both performance and education.

Akiyoshi is no stranger to such honors. A 2007 National Endowment for the Arts Jazz Master, she has received 14 Grammy Award nominations, as well as the Shijahosho, the Japan Foundation Award, the Order of the Rising Sun, Gold Rays with Rosetta, the Asahi Award and New York City’s Liberty Award.

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published