Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

New Lionel Loueke Album, ‘Heritage,’ Due in August

Produced by Robert Glasper, the album features the guitarist with a new trio

Lionel Loueke
Lionel Loueke

Guitarist Lionel Loueke, from the West African nation of Benin, will release his next album as a leader, Heritage, on Aug. 28. The album, produced by Robert Glasper, is Loueke’s third for Blue Note Records. The recording features Loueke with a new trio featuring Derrick Hodge on electric bass and Mark Guiliana on drums. The album presents seven new compositions by Loueke, two by Glasper, and one co-written by the two. Glasper also contributes piano and keyboards to six tracks, while singer Gretchen Parlato provides background vocals on two tracks.

Track Listing

1. Ifê (Lionel Loueke)

2. Ouidah (Loueke)

3. Tribal Dance (Robert Glasper)

4. Hope (Loueke/Glasper)

5. Freedom Dance (Loueke)

6. Chardon (Loueke)

7. Farafina (Loueke)

8. African Ship (Loueke)

9. Goree (Loueke)

10. Bayyinah (Glasper)

Originally Published