Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

New Charles Lloyd Live Album Due Out July 14

Passin' Thru marks 10th anniversary of New Quartet

Charles Lloyd New Quartet: "Passin' Thru"
Charles Lloyd New Quartet: "Passin' Thru"
Charles Lloyd (photo by D. Darr)
Charles Lloyd (photo by D. Darr)

On July 14, Blue Note will release Passin’ Thru, a new live recording by Charles Lloyd New Quartet. The album documents saxophonist, flutist and composer Lloyd, pianist Jason Moran, bassist Reuben Rogers and drummer Eric Harland on tour during summer 2016, with performances from the Montreux Jazz Festival on June 30 and a July 29 date at The Lensic in Santa Fe, New Mexico.

Passin’ Thru marks the 10th anniversary of the New Quartet’s formation. In a press release sent to JazzTimes, Lloyd states, “When we come together as a unit, we find the music and love has only grown deeper. The bond of our shared experiences on and off the stage informs and expands the music. A span of 10 years covers a lot of territory, but in the time frame of the Universe, it is a mere nanosecond.”

Track list

1. Dream Weaver
2. Part 5, Ruminations
3. Nu Blues
4. How Can I Tell You
5. Tagore on the Delta
6. Passin’ Thru
7. Shiva Prayer

To pre-order the album, visit

Preview the title track below.


Originally Published