Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

New Century Jazz Quintet Wins Inaugural DCJazzPrix

New York-based quintet will receive $15,000 prize

New Century Quartet won the inaugural DCJazzPrix competition at the 2016 DC Jazz Festival

The New Century Jazz Quintet has won the inaugural DCJazzPrix, a jazz band competition hosted by the DC Jazz Festival on Saturday, June 18.

Founded in 2013, the New York-based quintet features pianist Takeshi Ohbayashi, drummer Ulysses Owens Jr., trumpeter Benny Benack III, alto saxophonist Braxton Cook and bassist Yasushi Nakamura, who did not perform in the JazzPrix; bassist Corcoran Holt performed with the quintet instead.

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published