Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

NEA Jazz Masters for 2014 Announced

Jamey Aebersold, Anthony Braxton, Richard Davis, Keith Jarrett to be honored

Richard Davis
Keith Jarrett
Jamey Aebersold at the JEN Conference Jan. 2013

The National Endowment for the Arts today announced the 2014 NEA Jazz Masters: Jamey Aebersold, Anthony Braxton, Richard Davis and Keith Jarrett. The four recipients will be honored at an awards ceremony and concert to take place January 13, 2014, at Jazz at Lincoln Center in New York City, which will be webcast live at and JALC.

According to a press release, “These musicians and educators, now awarded the nation’s highest honor in the field, are recognized for their lifetime achievements and exceptional contributions to the advancement of jazz. They will each receive a one-time award of $25,000.”

The NEA provided the following summaries of each recipient’s achievements and significance.


Educator, Saxophonist, Pianist, Bassist, Banjo player

Born in and currently resides in New Albany, Indiana

Jamey Aebersold is the recipient of the 2014 A.B. Spellman NEA Jazz Masters Award for Jazz Advocacy, which is bestowed upon an individual who has contributed significantly to the appreciation, knowledge, and advancement of the art form of jazz.

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published