Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

NEA Announces 2019 Jazz Masters

Crouch, Dorough, Ibrahim, and Schneider take honors

Bob Dorough
Bob Dorough (photo: Garth Woods)
Abdullah Ibrahim
Abdullah Ibrahim (photo: Marina Umari)
Maria Schneider
Maria Schneider (photo: Jimmy and Dena Katz)
Stanley Crouch (photo: Frank Stewart)

The National Endowment for the Arts today announced the recipients of its 2019 NEA Jazz Masters Fellowships: author/historian Stanley Crouch; the late vocalist/composer/arranger/pianist Bob Dorough; pianist/composer Abdullah Ibrahim; and composer/arranger/bandleader Maria Schneider.

The 2019 recipients will be honored at a free tribute concert next April 15 at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington, D.C. The event will also be streamed online.

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published