Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

National Endowment for the Arts Announces 2020 Jazz Masters

Bobby McFerrin, Roscoe Mitchell, and others to be honored at free concert on April 2 in San Francisco

2020 NEA Jazz Master Bobby McFerrin
Bobby McFerrin, along with Roscoe Mitchell, Reggie Workman, and Dorthaan Kirk, was named a 2020 NEA Jazz Master. (photo: Petra Hajska)

The National Endowment for the Arts has announced the four newest recipients of the NEA Jazz Masters Fellowship, the nation’s highest honor in jazz.

Musicians Bobby McFerrin, Roscoe Mitchell, and Reggie Workman, as well as broadcaster, producer, and community organizer Dorthaan Kirk—who is receiving the A.B. Spellman NEA Jazz Masters Fellowship for Jazz Advocacy—are the 2020 recipients of NEA Jazz Masters Fellowships. They will be celebrated at a tribute concert on April 2, 2020 at the SFJAZZ Center in San Francisco, Calif., in collaboration with SFJAZZ.

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.