Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Myra Melford Plans NYC Residency March 24-29

Will reunite several past ensembles

Myra Melford
Myra Melford

Pianist and composer Myra Melford will present a career retrospective at The Stone in New York’s Lower East Side March 24-29. Melford-who now lives in Berkeley, Calif., and is a professor of music at UC Berkeley-will revisit some of her former projects from her 20-plus years living in New York. Throughout the week, according to a press release, “Melford is enlisting many former NY peers and newer ‘top-shelf’ improvisers and collaborators to play her music: Matt Wilson, Dave Douglas, Allison Miller, Mary Halvorson, Tyshawn Sorey, Erik Friedlander, Cuong Vu, Chris Speed, Marty Ehrlich, Nicole Mitchell, Ben Goldberg and others.”

On March 24, Melford will release Snowy Egret, by her new ensemble of the same name with Ron Miles (cornet), Liberty Ellman (guitar), Stomu Takeishi (acoustic bass guitar) and Ted Poor subbing for Sorey (drums), who will appear earlier in the week in a trio with Melford and Nicole Mitchell.

Myra Melford’s Residency at The Stone NYC

3/24 Tuesday

8 pm

Allison Miller and Myra Melford

Allison Miller (drums) Myra Melford (piano)

10 pm

Spindrift for Leroy Jenkins

Nicole Mitchell (flutes) Tyshawn Sorey (drums) Myra Melford (piano)

3/25 Wednesday

8 pm


Ben Goldberg (clarinets) Myra Melford (piano)

10 pm

Miya Masaoka, Mary Halvorson, Myra Melford

Miya Masaoka (koto) Mary Halvorson (guitar) Myra Melford (piano)

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published