Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Muhal Richard Abrams Receives Living Legacy Award

Pianist and composer is honored by BNY Mellon

Muhal Richard Abrams
Muhal Richard Abrams (center) receives BNY Mellon Jazz 2012 Living Legacy Award

Jazz pianist and composer Muhal Richard Abrams was awarded the BNY Mellon Jazz 2012 Living Legacy Award in a ceremony at Washington, D.C.’s John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts on Oct.19. The Living Legacy award, according to a press release, “honors jazz masters from the mid-Atlantic region who have achieved distinction in jazz performance and education.”

In addition to the ceremony, saophonist/clarinetist Anat Cohen performed with her quartet in the Kennedy Center Jazz Club.

Previous Living Legacy Award winners (from 2011-1994) include Phil Woods, Roy Haynes, Dr. Frank Foster, Kenny Barron, Benny Golson, Oliver Lake, Rufus Reid, Randy Weston, Keter Betts, Jimmy Heath, Joe Kennedy, Jr., Shirley Scott, Reggie Workman, Dr. Donald Byrd, Larry Ridley, Barry Harris, Robert “Boysie” Lowery, and Clark Terry. A Millennium Award was conferred on Dr. Billy Taylor in 2000.

Originally Published