Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Miles Davis 1991 Montreux Concert Coming to DVD, Blu-Ray and Digital

Program features Davis with Quincy Jones, Gil Evans Orch.

Miles Davis

Miles Davis’ July 8, 1991 concert at the Montreux Jazz Festival, featuring the late trumpeter with Quincy Jones and the Gil Evans Orchestra, will be released by Eagle Rock March 19. Miles Davis with Quincy Jones and the Gil Evans Orchestra Live at Montreux 1991 will be available on DVD, Blu-Ray and digital video. The show was Davis’ last Montreux appearance, taking place just months before his death. A tribute to arranger Gil Evans, who had died three years earlier, the performance featured Davis, Kenny Garrett (saxophone) and Wallace Rooney (trumpet, flugelhorn). Quincy Jones conducted the Gil Evans Orchestra and the George Gruntz Concert Jazz Band with the addition of Benny Bailey (trumpet, flugelhorn), Carles Benavent (bass) and Grady Tate (drums).


Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published