Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Metronome Jazz Photo Collection to Exhibit in Select Cities

Classic images from the early days of jazz

Benny Goodman, 1939, from the Metronome Jazz Photo Collection
Louis Armstrong, 1940, from the Metronome Jazz Photo Collection

Limited Runs will present the Metronome Jazz Photo Collection, from the archives of Metronome Magazine, in a traveling show that begins in Los Angeles June 24-27. The exhibition will be shown at limited-time pop-ups in San Francisco, Chicago, Philadelphia, New York, and other cities.

Metronome published its first issue in 1881 and switched its main focus to jazz during the swing era. It continued to publish until the early 1960s.

The exhibit will feature contemporary prints of jazz icons including Louis Armstrong, Duke Ellington, Count Basie, Miles Davis, Billie Holiday, Benny Goodman, Ella Fitzgerald, Dave Brubeck, Thelonious Monk, John Coltrane and many more.

Exhibit Dates

Wednesday, June 24 through Saturday, June 27

LOS ANGELES


Strauss Studios


6442 Santa Monica Blvd.


Los Angeles, CA 90038

Wednesday, July 15 through Saturday, July 18

SAN FRANCISCO


Sarah Stocking Gallery


368 Jackson Street


San Francisco, California 94111

Thursday, July 23 through Saturday, July 25

PHILADELPHIA


Savery Gallery


319 N. 11th Street


Philadelphia PA 19107

Thursday, October 1 through Saturday, October 3

NEW YORK


360 Design Space


104 Charlton Street


New York, NY 10014

Thursday, October 8 through Saturday, October 10

CHICAGO


The Study Chicago


1837 W Fulton Street


Chicago, Illinois 60612

For more information, visit Limited Runs.

Originally Published