Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Landslide Reissues Albums by Dan Wall, David Earle Johnson w/ John Abercrombie

Long out-of-print releases will be available digitally-only

Landslide Records has announced two digital-only releases from its early LP catalog: Song For the Night by pianist Dan Wall, and Route Two, a trio production led by the late percussionist David Earle Johnson and featuring guitarist John Abercrombie and Wall on organ. Originally, both albums came out on vinyl in 1981 and have been out of print since 1989.

Song For The Night represents Wall’s initial appearance on record and includes sidemen Steve Grossman, soprano sax; Mike Richmond, bass; and Jimmy Madison, drums.

Route Two features Johnson, who was well known for his percussion work with keyboardist Jan Hammer, and Abercrombie, who is known for his solo outings on numerous ECM records. Other sidemen featured on Route Two include Jeremy Steig, flute; Gary Campbell, tenor saxophone; Joe Chambers, drums; and Col. Bruce Hampton (aka Hampton B. Coles) who provides intros over the closing track.

Originally Published