Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Joanne Brackeen to Receive Living Legacy Award

Pianist/composer to be honored as mid-Atlantic region jazz master

Joanne Brackeen
Joanne Brackeen in 1976

Pianist and composer Joanne Brackeen will be awarded the BNY Mellon Jazz 2014 Living Legacy Award in a ceremony scheduled to take place at Washington, D.C.’s Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts on October 10. The award is a program of Mid Atlantic Arts Foundation and is sponsored by investment management firm BNY Mellon. The BNY Mellon Jazz Living Legacy Award, according to a press release, “honors living jazz masters from the mid-Atlantic region who have achieved distinction in jazz performance and education.”

The 2014 Award coincides with the 20th Anniversary of the Living Legacy Award and Mid Atlantic Arts Foundation’s 35th Anniversary. The celebration will include a gala reception, the award ceremony, and a performance honoring the 2012 awardee Muhal Richard Abrams in the Kennedy Center’s Terrace Theater.

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published