Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

JJA’s Musician Awards Announced

Jazz Journalists Association honors Shorter, Schneider and more

Maria Schneider
Ryan Truesdell

Winners in the musician categories have been announced for the 2013 Jazz Journalists Association Jazz Awards. (The media-related awards, in print, online and radio categories, will be announced at a ceremony in New York City in June.) Big winners this year include Wayne Shorter, Wadada Leo Smith, Maria Schneider, Ryan Truesdell and more. Perennial award-winner Sonny Rollins was honored with a special “Emeritus Jazz Artist/Beyond Voting” award, its purpose to highlight both Rollins’ enduring achievements and allow other deserving musicians to win awards.

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published