Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

JJA Announces Jazz Awards Nominees

Winners in 40 categories to be announced in June

Ambrose Akinmusire
Craig Taborn

The Jazz Journalists Association (JJA) has announced the finalists for its 16th annual Jazz Awards. Among the artists in the running this year are such veteran performers as Sonny Rollins, Keith Jarrett, Phil Woods Lee Konitz, Gary Burton, Ron Carter, Roy Haynes, Jack DeJohnette, Pat Metheny and John Scofield, as well as such recent arrivals as trumpeter Ambrose Akinmusire, pianist Craig Taborn, tenor saxophonist J.D. Allen, guitarist Mary Halvorson, bassist Esperanza Spalding, vibist Warren Wolf and drummer Eric Harland.

JazzTimes is honored to have been nominated once again in the fields of Print Periodical of the Year and, for, Website of the Year. Awards will be handed out in a total of 40 categories, the winners based on the votes of JJA’s members, which includes jazz writers, photographers, broadcasters and new media producers professionally involved with jazz. Awards are for accomplishments and productions from calendar year 2011, except in two categories for Lifetime Achievement,

Winners of the 2012 JJA Jazz Awards will be announced in June, leading up to announcement of Lifetime Achievement Awards winners, Musician of the Year, Record of the Year, Male and Female Jazz Vocalists of the Year at a cocktail party to be held at the Blue Note Jazz Club, New York City, on June 20, 4 to 6 pm. Information on ticket sales for that event will be posted at Jazz Awards.

For the complete list of nominees, visit Jazz Awards Nominees.

Originally Published