Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Jazz Roots Concert Series Kicks Off in Miami

Series organized by Larry Rosen and Adrienne Arsht Center features jazz vocals, Latin jazz, Miles Davis tribute and more

Michael Feinstein taping show for PBS
M. John Richard, president and CEO of Adrienne Arsht Center in Miami

Now entering its third season, the 2010-2011 edition of Jazz Roots: A Larry Rosen Jazz Series opens on Friday, November 5 with American Songbook, featuring performances by Michael Feinstein and Ann Hampton Callaway at the Adrienne Arsht Center’s Knight Concert Hall in Miami. Other shows in this season’s series include: Descarga! Latin Jazz Jam, with Poncho Sanchez and Tiempo Libre (December 3); An Evening with Keith Jarrett, Gary Peacock and Jack DeJohnette (January 21, 2011); Celebrating Miles, with Wallace Roney, Ron Carter and Marcus Miller (February 25); Three Generations of Divas, with Dianne Reeves, Jane Monheit and Nikki Yanofsky (March 18); and Guitar Virtuosos (April 1).

The series was co-created in conjunction with the Adrienne Arsht Center by longtime jazz impresario Larry Rosen, who founded GRP Records, as well as N2K/N-Coded Music and also produced the Legends of Jazz television series with Ramsey Lewis. M. John Richard, president and CEO of the Adrienne Arsht Center, says that Rosen acted as an important catalyst for the series. “Larry’s longstanding understanding and appreciation of the jazz community has enabled us to shape and form a series that is unlike most,” says Richard. “He’s a thought leader. He’s also committed to the educational component and his relationship with artists have helped us to shape really strong series. As a consulting advisor and co-producer, Larry is a fantastic partner who cares very much about the art form and you feel it every time he talks about the series.”

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published