Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Jazz Journalists Association Names 2019 Slate of Jazz Heroes

22 activists, advocates from across the U.S. honored

Twenty-two activists, advocates, altruists, aiders and abettors of jazz in 20 U.S. cities were announced as 2019 Jazz Heroes by the Jazz Journalists Association on April 1.

The award winners, from Amherst, Mass. to Los Angeles, and from Seattle to south Florida, are presenters, educators, nonprofit administrators, public faces of grassroots organizations, and in several cases active players. All were recognized for helping to sustain and develop jazz.

The complete list of Jazz Heroes for 2019 follows.

1. Amherst, Mass.: Glenn Siegel
2. Baltimore: George “Doc” Manning
3. Chicago: Kate Dumbleton
4. Detroit: Oliver Ragsdale, Jr.
5. Indianapolis: David Allee
6. Los Angeles: Barbara J. Brighton
7. Miami: Keith Clarke
8. Minneapolis-St.Paul: Steve Kenny
9. New Orleans: Derrick Tabb
10. New York City: Marjorie Eliot
11. New York City: Jim Harrison
12. Philadelphia: Suzanne Cloud
13. Pittsburgh: Dr. Harry Clark
14. Portland, Ore.: Don Lucoff
15. San Diego: Holly Hofmann
16/17. Seattle: Matt Jorgensen & John Bishop
18. SF Bay Area: Stacey Hoffman
19. St. Louis: Terry Perkins
20. South Florida: Joan Cartwright
21. Tallahassee, Fla.:  Bob Dogan
22. Washington, D.C.: Paul Carr

To find out more about the award winners, click on their names above or visit the JJA’s 2019 Jazz Heroes web page.


The Jazz Journalists Association is a nonprofit professional organization of writers, photographers, videographers, and broadcasters covering the genre. It established the Jazz Heroes campaign in 2010. Before then, starting in 2001, the honorees were known as members of the association’s “A Team.”

The nominees for the JJA’s annual Jazz Awards for excellence in music and music journalism will be announced mid-April, with winners of those awards revealed on or about May 1.

See who won the JJA’s Jazz Heroes awards in 2018.

Originally Published