Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Jazz Journalists Association Announces 2013 Award Nominees

Abrams, Tyner, Weston and Shorter vie for Lifetime Achievement nod

Muhal Richard Abrams
Wayne Shorter
Anat Cohen, Winter Jazz Fest, NYC, 1/11
Robert Glasper, Caramoor Jazz Festival, 8-11
Wadada Leo Smith, photo copyright Lyn Horton

The Jazz Journalists Association has announced the nominees for its 2013 JJA Jazz Awards. Nominations are based on work produced during last year and range from musicians active in several instrument categories to achievements in jazz journalism itself.

Musician of the Year nominees are Anat Cohen, Chick Corea, Robert Glasper, Vijay Iyer and Wadada Leo Smith. In addition, four artists-Muhal Richard Abrams, McCoy Tyner, Randy Weston and Wayne Shorter-have been nominated for Lifetime Achievement in jazz.

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published