Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame Voting Now Open

Freddie Hubbard, Cannonball Adderley, and Dinah Washington are among this year’s nominees; voting ends April 29

Freddie Hubbard
Freddie Hubbard, Newport, circa 1969

As Jazz Appreciation Month nears its end, Jazz at Lincoln Center has opened voting for the 2019 Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame inductees. The general public can vote online now for this year’s nominees by clicking here.

Voting ends on April 29 at 11:59 p.m. EST.

The 2019 Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame nominees are: Julian “Cannonball” Adderley, Kenny Clarke, Roy Haynes, Freddie Hubbard, Arturo “Chico” O’Farrill, Cecil Taylor, Frank Trumbauer, Dinah Washington, Chick Webb, and Teddy Wilson.

This year’s nominees were selected by a Jazz at Lincoln Center-appointed panel, which includes Bill Charlap, Aaron Diehl, Jon Faddis, Will Friedwald, Ethan Iverson, Jerome Jennings, Renee Rosnes, Catherine Russell, Bobby Sanabria, Phil Schaap, Loren Schoenberg, Bria Skonberg, Terell Stafford, Helen Sung, and Ben Young.

Jazz at Lincoln Center will announce the four inductees of the Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame 2019 class on April 30, recognized as International Jazz Day. The inductees will be celebrated at curated sets on July 16–17 at Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Dizzy’s Club. The shows will also be webcast live at

Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame is located in Frederick P. Rose Hall, home of Jazz at Lincoln Center, on Broadway at 60th Street in New York City. For additional information, visit