Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Jazz Coalition Announces Second Round of Commission Fund Grants

Carla Bley, Keyon Harrold, Allison Miller, and William Parker are among the 53 recipients

Carla Bley
Carla Bley at the 2019 Healdsburg Jazz Festival (photo: George Wells)

Jazz Coalition, formed earlier this year to both foster musicians’ creativity and keep them afloat financially during the COVID-19 lockdown, has announced 53 awardees in its second round of Jazz Coalition Commission Fund grants. The two rounds have received combined funds of $103,000.

The Jazz Coalition Commission Fund draws on contributions from its members and institutional donors to fund commissions for new original works from the musicians that receive the funds; these works should respond to and/or reflect the challenges of our new pandemic era. The musicians commissioned in the first round of awards included pianist Orrin Evans, pianist Nduduzo Makhathini, vibraphonist Joel Ross, and saxophonist Camille Thurman, all of whom have premiered their new commissions via live stream. Twenty-one other first-round commissions are either in progress or complete but not yet premiered.

A full list of the 53 recipients in this new round is below.

Cyrille Aimée
JD Allen
Fabian Almazan
Steven Bernstein
Theo Bleckmann
Carla Bley
Ari Brown
Justin Brown
Milena Casado Fauquet
Melanie Charles
Sarah Elizabeth Charles
Sylvie Courvoisier
Theo Croker
Ronnie Cuber
Willerm Delisfort
Ray Drummond
Nick Dunston
Wendy Eisenberg
Justin Faulkner
Michael Formanek
Sullivan Fortner
María Grand
Richie Goods
Morgan Guerin
Connie Han
Tom Harrell
Keyon Harrold
Sarah Hughes
Aaron Johnston
Darius Jones
Michael Mayo
Makaya McCraven
Ava Mendoza
Allison Miller
Lesedi Ntsane
Aruan Ortiz
William Parker
Eric Person
Ralph Peterson
Eric Revis
Michele Rosewoman
George Schuller
Marcus Shelby
Josh Sinton
Carmen Staaf
E.J. Strickland
Diego Urcola
Fay Victor
Jorge Vistel
Edward Wilkerson Jr.
Immanuel Wilkins
Matt Wilson

Find out more about Jazz Coalition at its website.