Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

James Chance & the Contortions to Release “The Flesh Is Weak”

Due out Nov. 11 on True Groove

James Chance & the Contortions

Singer-saxophonist James Chance and the Contortions’-guitarist-vocalist Tomás Doncker, bassist-vocalist Eric Klaastad, drummer-vocalist Richard Dworkin, saxophonist-organist Robert Aaron and trumpeter-trombonist Mac Gollehon-new album, The Flesh Is Weak, the band’s first new full-length album in decades, is set to be released on Nov. 11 via True Groove.

The album, sparked by a conversation to release a 35th anniversary of the band’s debut album, BUY, The Flesh Is Weak, produced by Doncker and James Dellatacoma, and recorded at Bill Laswell’s Orange Music Sound Studio, is a mix of new songs such as “Melt Yourself Down”-complete with Chance’s Farfisa organ- “Disciplinary Action” and “Snap It Back, Strip It Down,” as well as covers of Gil Scott-Heron’s “Home Is Where the Hatred Is” and Frank Sinatra’s “That’s Life.”

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published