Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

JALC Announces New Ertegun Hall of Fame Inductees

Dexter Gordon, James P. Johnson and Lennie Tristano are new members

Dexter Gordon by Herman Leonard

Jazz at Lincoln Center has announced its 2015 Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame inductees: Dexter Gordon, James P. Johnson and Lennie Tristano. The inductees were chosen by “gaining the majority popular vote cast by jazz fans around the world,” according to a JALC press release. The new Hall of Fame inductees will be celebrated during curated sets on July 1-2 at Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Dizzy’s Club Coca-Cola at Frederick P. Rose Hall, Broadway at 60th Street, New York, NY.

The 2015 Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame nominees were selected by a Jazz at Lincoln Center-appointed panel which includes Ed Berger, Bill Charlap, Connie Crothers, Aaron Diehl, Jon Faddis, Vincent Giordano, Ethan Iverson, Jerome Jennings, Branford Marsalis, Renee Rosnes, Ellen Rowe, Bobby Sanabria, Phil Schaap, Loren Schoenberg, Bria Skonberg, Terell Stafford and Ben Young.

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published