Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

JALC Announces 2016 Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame Inductees

Ben Webster, J.J. Johnson and Wayne Shorter to be honored with performances July 12-14

Saxophonist Ben Webster has been named as one of the 2016 Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame inductees
Wayne Shorter speaks at the Osaka School of Music, International Jazz Day, Osaka, Japan, April 30, 2014
J.J. Johnson

The votes are in and saxophonists Ben Webster and Wayne Shorter and trombonist J.J. Johnson have been named Jazz at Lincoln Center’s 2016 Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame inductees. Each inductee will be honored with performances July 12-14 at Dizzy’s Club Coca-Cola, located at Broadway and 60th Street in New York City.

On July 12, saxophonists Jerry Weldon and Houston Person will launch the 2016 Ertegun Hall of Fame celebration by honoring tenor saxophonist Ben Webster, known for his work in the orchestras of Fletcher Henderson, Benny Carter, Cab Calloway and Duke Ellington, and for his collaborations with such artists as Art Tatum, Oscar Peterson and Coleman Hawkins. Set times are 7:30 p.m. and 9:30 p.m.; cover charge is $35 and $30 for students (9:30 p.m. only).

Start Your Free Trial to Continue Reading

Become a JazzTimes member to explore our complete archive of interviews, profiles, columns, and reviews written by music's best journalists and critics.
Originally Published