Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

JALC Announces 2014 Ertegun Jazz Hall Of Fame Inductees

Betty Carter, Fletcher Henderson, Elvin Jones & Wes Montgomery elected

Betty Carter
Elvin Jones
Betty Carter
Fletcher Henderson

Jazz at Lincoln Center has announced the newest inductees into its Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame: Betty Carter, Fletcher Henderson, Elvin Jones, and Wes Montgomery. According to a press release, “After gaining the majority popular vote cast by jazz fans around the world, the newest EJHF class with be inducted on June 9, in a private induction ceremony at Dizzy’s Club Coca-Cola, at JALC’s home, Frederick P. Rose Hall, Broadway at 60th Street, New York, NY. Viewers can tune in via live webcast at JALC Live.”

This year’s inductees were nominated by a committee of select musicians and scholars and voted in by public vote from January 31 through February 14 and open to jazz fans around the world. This year’s nominating committee includes Ed Berger, Bill Charlap, Connie Crothers, Aaron Diehl, Jon Faddis, Vince Giordano, Ethan Iverson, Wynton Marsalis, Renee Rosnes, Dr. Ellen Rowe, Phil Schaap, and Loren Schoenberg.

Originally Published