Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Jack DeJohnette to Release New Album, ‘Sound Travels,’ Jan. 17

Guests include Esperanza Spalding, Bruce Hornsby, Bobby McFerrin, Ambrose Akinmusire, Lionel Loueke & Jason Moran

Jack DeJohnette

Drum legend Jack DeJohnette will release a new album, Sound Travels (a co-release between Golden Beams and eOne), on Jan. 17. DeJohnette, who will turn 70 in August, is also set to receive a National Endowment for the Arts Jazz Master Fellowship, the highest U.S. honor for jazz musicians.

Sound Travels features an array of collaborators, including vocalists Bruce Hornsby, Bobby McFerrin and Esperanza Spalding. Also on board are emerging talents such as trumpeter Ambrose Akinmusire and guitarist Lionel Loueke (and Spalding, who plays bass on seven of the tracks) and established jazz stars such as saxophonist Tim Ries, percussionist Luisito Quintero and, on one track, pianist Jason Moran. DeJohnette composed all of the tunes (he co-composed “Dirty Ground” with Hornsby, who wrote the lyrics.

Originally Published