Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Hancock, Cruz, EWF to Receive Lifetime Grammys

Ruth Brown, Linda Ronstadt will also be honored

Herbie Hancock
Celia Cruz
Earth Wind & Fire

The Recording Academy has announced the recipients of its 2016 Special Merit Awards. This year’s Lifetime Achievement Award honorees are Herbie Hancock, Celia Cruz, Earth, Wind & Fire, Ruth Brown, Jefferson Airplane, Linda Ronstadt, and Run-DMC. John Cage, Fred Foster, and Chris Strachwitz will receive the Trustees Award and EMT and Dr. Harvey Fletcher will receive Technical Grammys.

The awards will be handed out this spring at the annual Grammy awards event.

Originally Published